Show Me

ShowMe is an app that I’m starting to really enjoy.  Even though I don’t enjoy talking a lot, this app makes it easier to speak, because you can illustrate what you are trying to say.

Screen Shot 2014-01-12 at 7.23.51 PMIn the past, I’ve encouraged students to use the app, because it would help them combine images with their voice.  An added bonus is having the ability to draw on the picture that you’re talking about.  Here is an example of a young student making connections between art & math:  Gingerbread

Today, I was preparing for a substitute teacher.  I like to provide detailed notes, which is both good and bad.  Good for the substitute, but a bit of a headache to prepare.  Lately, I’ve used a lot of photos in my lesson plans to help illustrate many points, but today I thought I’d try something new.  I took pictures of some of my students’ materials to use for a ShowMe.

Screen Shot 2014-01-12 at 7.32.03 PM

*Click the picture to link to the ShowMe*

Even though I made a number of mistakes, I can still see the potential for using this app productively in the future.  Can you think of ways that you’d like to use this app in your classroom?

This entry was posted in Art Education, Ed tech and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Show Me

  1. bgrasley says:

    Hmm… I think I missed the “mistakes” you referred to. :)

    Short clips like these are really helpful for everyone – occasional teachers, students, and you as well. Make sure you do a good job naming and organizing these clips so that you can use them in the future. If you have time, it might be worth recording these even when you don’t have a supply teacher coming in so that students can return to your explanations whenever they need to (for example, if they were absent). Maybe you can collect them in a single place for everyone (in D2L and/or on your blog)?

    I think this format is more comfortable for most people than standing in front of a camera would be, and the file size aught to be much smaller. You did a great job of this one; can’t wait to see more!

    • colleenkr says:

      Your comments are so similar to those from other art teachers (a FB group). I’m hoping to use this format to create a bunch of little videos for tutorials, organization, etc. Great minds think alike!
      I experimented with VoiceThread, but to view it on a mobile device, you need the app first (unlike viewing it on the computer). I’m also interested in Explain Everything & may try that out soon.
      It was handy to prepare this little explanation & have it available with both the link & QR code — I was lucky the supply had a scanning app, because it was so much more efficient!

      • bgrasley says:

        Can you export it to YouTube? That’s a great place to put stuff, as long as your board doesn’t block it. Actually, I suppose it’s great even if they *do* block it :)

Leave a Reply

