Hello!

The worst thing that anyone can do is to get stuck in a rut.  This is especially true if you are a teacher!  This blog is the beginning of a challenge that I have made for myself (and for any other teachers):  try something new!

We are forever telling our students to experiment and take chances, but many times we don’t follow our own advice.  What is the result?  Fuddy-Duddy Teachers.  Don’t tell me you don’t know what I mean.  You remember them from your own days in high school…  the teachers that relied on the same old assignments like they relied on their same old wardrobe.  Change is necessary.  Clean out your binders and see your classroom with a new set of eyes.  Who knows what we’ve been missing?

This entry was posted in Art Education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello!

  1. Wesley Fryer says:

    Good for you taking up the challenge of blogging! The “WordPress Lessons” site on the WordPress.org Codex is a great resource to use as you get started:

    http://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress_Lessons
    Good luck!

    • colleenkr says:

      Thank you for your encouragement and your help! It’s exciting to begin something new, and I intend to learn quite a bit… I can’t wait to share many of these lessons with my students!
      Colleen

  2. Donna Fry says:

    This is beautiful! I particularly love that you used your blueberry painting as your header image.

    I can recall in my career the key catalysts that took me out of my default method of teaching and shook me up to try something new. I hope this takes you in a direction that continues to excite and inspire you to share with your students and your fellow educators.

    You are just beginning to connect with the wealth of people who share your ideas and passions, and I know that you will find this journey to be very inspirational. I am happy to help with forming those connections in any way I can.

    I have to say though, having Wesley Fryer make the very first comment on your blog is very impressive! Wesley has such a depth of knowledge and experience to share!

    Congratulations Colleen. I look forward to reading more.

    • colleenkr says:

      Thank you so very much Donna. I must say, it is exciting for me too. And a bit scary. Trying something new does tend to get one out of their comfort zone. Let’s hope that a bit of possible discomfort leads to leaps and bounds toward a greater education for my students and myself!
      As always, your comments are encouraging and crucial for someone taking their first steps on a new path. My newest blog (just posted a few moments ago) mentions your support. Thank you so much.

  3. Stacey Wallwin says:

    Good work and good luck, Colleen. I am impressed at your candour. The blended learning approach to teaching is exciting, but can be scary as well. You have made the first leap and in being honest have shown your students the risks and rewards of trying something new. As I have quickly learned this year, once you “put yourself out there”, peolpe are more than happy to support you with words of encouragement and resources. You will soon gain confidence in this new medium and act as a mentor for others! I look forawrd to learning from you and your students this year!

    • colleenkr says:

      I agree that it’s a scary experience, but I have to admit that it is fun to try something new. Already, the world of education is opening up in an entirely new way and it reminds me of my attitude when I began my teaching career. Thank you for your encouraging words ~ it makes such a difference!

  4. April Brown says:

    I found your blog on Diigo when someone highlighted some of your key points. I’m sure your students are loving the process and of course, you’ve learned a great deal as well. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Best of luck in your second year. Just think how much better you’ll be at blogging with a year under your belt.

Leave a Reply

