Analyze This!

Success!  Today I tried something new with my senior art students… and it worked!

If you have had experience trying to get students to understand and describe design content, you might enjoy this lesson.  This was a nice way to refresh my students’ abilities to analyze an artwork.

  • I chose two colours of Bristol board to use — neon green for the elements and bright pink for the principles.  This helps students remember which group the terms come from.  Since I have white boards at the front of the class, I attached magnet tape to the back of each word.
  • I prepared by choosing an artwork and displaying it on the front board.  Make sure to label the artist and title… to reinforce the same skills you ask of your students.
  • Help your students by providing your own analysis of the artwork.  Leave the spaces blank where you would otherwise write an element or a principle.
  • If the class works in groups, they can talk about the meaning of the principles and try to piece the paragraph together based on what they remember.
  • The activity works like an interactive word wall, and students can move the words to fit into the sentences.
  • Depending on their success level, you can encourage them to write their own comment using any left-over terms that haven’t already been used.  (By explaining to the class that there is a need to connect the elements to the principles, they are told that they need a PINK word and a GREEN word in the same sentence.)

I’m looking forward to repeating this activity since it worked so well!

This entry was posted in Art Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Analyze This!

  1. Sarah H says:

    Hey Colleen-

    I have been reading your blog regularly…. and it is awesome! I also told all of my primary ABQ classmates to check it out

    I miss our daily chats at NipRock!

    -Sarah H

    • colleenkr says:

      Sarah, thank you so much for your encouraging words ~ that’s just one of the things I miss about having you around! Another thing is seeing the teaching world through the eyes of someone who is starting out… it’s refreshing! I’m so happy that you are in the primary ABQ program because I just know that you have the perfect personality for teaching little ones. I can’t wait to hear all about your studies!

  2. artwithmsb says:

    Great post! I would love to use this in my classroom! I especially like the challenge of using one element and one principle in each sentence. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Making Connections « Northern Art Teacher

Leave a Reply

