#BIT15

Heading toward Niagara Falls for #BIT15 …

A post shared by Colleen Rose (@colleenkr) on

Good morning, Niagara Falls! #BIT15

A post shared by Colleen Rose (@colleenkr) on

.

It’s hard to believe that I’m home after such a great experience at #BIT15 — it seems a little like the calm of Boxing Day (when you stay at home), after Christmas.

There were some highlights at this year’s conference that I simply can’t forget.

It was so cool to work with Peter & Leslie this year.  We wanted to bring a new experience to #BIT15:  GREEN SCREEN!  Please read this Storify to see a collection of the images & videos that were created at #GoingGreen.

TVO’s audience grew at this year’s conference, and for good reason.  TeachOntario is a dynamic online environment for Ontario’s educators, and there were plenty of people who wanted to learn all about it.  Read this Storify to find out more…

It's the #TeachOntario @TVO crew at @bring_it_together #BIT15!! Come see us present in Fallsview A!

A post shared by Colleen Rose (@colleenkr) on

.

Sketchnoting fascinates me.  Sylvia Duckworth’s sketchnotes have become famous in the world of education and #edtech.  Having the chance to learn from her at #BIT15?  Priceless!  Take a peek at “Sketchnoting with Sylvia at #BIT15“.

So great to attend @sylviaduckworth's #sketchnote session at #BIT15! 🎨 #artsed & #edtech unite!

A post shared by Colleen Rose (@colleenkr) on

.

Heidi Siwak brought the house down with her closing keynote.  I felt like I wanted to have a remote control, so that I could record what she was sharing, pause it to help me digest ideas, and replay just to hear all of the great ideas again and allow them to sink in.  What a phenomenal educator — I keep imagining what it must be like to be one of her students, because they must be continually amazed when she helps them discover new ways of thinking and understanding.

…and finally…

A farewell gift from the #Niagara sky as I ride the shuttle to the airport. #bit15 #sunset #landscape #Ontario

A post shared by Colleen Rose (@colleenkr) on

.

.

This entry was posted in Ed tech, Education, Education Reform, technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #BIT15

  1. HI Colleen, what a great journal of your #BIT15 experience! I’m sorry that I missed your green screen session. What app did you use to create those great effects?

    I was thrilled to have met you, too: so glad we are now friends!

    Sylvia

    • colleenkr says:

      Hi Sylvia,

      Thanks so much for leaving a comment. No worries about missing my session — are you interested in learning about green screen? So far, I’ve only experimented with Do Ink because it’s so versatile and user-friendly. If you get the app, let me know & we can toss some ideas around!

      The app that I used in the video is called Super Power FX, and it is so much fun to use. Now that I’m home, my kids are itching to try out a ton of ideas (and my students are pretty excited too)! It’s a free app that comes with one effect, but I didn’t regret buying the extra effects for about $5.00 🙂

      I’m so glad we met too! I’ve been wanting to meet you for some time, since there aren’t as many artist-educators who embrace technology. Online connections are great, but F2F is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

