Could Doug Actually Change My Mind?

Last week, I wrote a blog post about the need for originality in art, and illustrated my point by judging cover bands.  They were judged a bit harshly, and Doug caught me.  I found out by reading his blog this morning, and I have to admit that he made a good point.  Many good points, actually…  you really need to read what he had to say.

Doug made me do my homework too.  After hearing Bruce Springsteen’s cover of John Fogarty’s Rockin’ All Over the World, I ended up doing some research on YouTube and found the original performance by Fogarty (I hadn’t been familiar with the song at all before this point).  It’s hard to say which artist has done a better job, but maybe that’s because I’m a bit stubborn and might not want to admit defeat quite so easily.

The thing is, after thinking about it, I realized that I do enjoy some cover bands (a green eggs & ham moment, maybe?).  This one is dedicated to Doug.

 

This entry was posted in Art Education. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Could Doug Actually Change My Mind?

  1. dougpete says:

    Thanks for sharing that, Colleen. I enjoyed it. I totally agree that there’s nothing most spectacular than an artist who is able to create new things on their own. At the same time, I do think that others learn from studying the original. More often than not, they can only approach the original. How successful would we be in learning if we didn’t have someone to model it for us.

    The reason why I used the Rockin’ All Over the World (can’t believe it was new to you… ) was something that’s always impressed me. With Springsteen’s complete collection, he certainly doesn’t need to cover anyone but does so all the time. It seems to me that it’s a real tribute to others – in this case Fogerty – to actually close a show covering someone else.

    • colleenkr says:

      I like your point about paying tribute, which reminds me of the phrase “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery”. I wonder if any artist has ever been offended by someone who covers their work, or maybe even felt challenged because the cover band performed better than they did. Have you heard Disturbed’s version of The Sound of Silence? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bk7RVw3I8eg

  2. lisamnoble says:

    There’s a great feature on Radio 2‘s drive home show everyday (and maybe in the morning, too), where they do an original and a cover. It’s a lovely way to get to discover different lenses on favourite music. I do a music listening assignment often where we listen to 2 Cellos and The Red Hot Chili Pipers and AC/DC doing Thunderstruck. I’ll have to add this one! The other interesting angle is one that my spouse came across. Bjorn Ulvaeus, one of the B’s in Abba, talked about the band deciding they wanted to be remembered in all their beauty and energy, and not as a cover band of their own hits.

    • colleenkr says:

      Lisa, the radio program sounds so cool! I’ll have to search for it. …and your class activity sounds so interesting — I’ll bet that some students are more familiar with the cover than the original. Your tidbit about ABBA is interesting. It makes me think about the popularity of the musical, Mamma Mia (which I loved) – I guess this was a way to cover their own songs using a method they felt comfortable with, since I know they helped to create the musical?

Leave a Reply

