I Want to Make You Mad.

Today, I told my students that I hoped they struggled with our exercises. I want them to be uncomfortable with these lessons. I want them to be frustrated.
If it’s too easy to “succeed”, then we’ve missed the point. If success comes too easily, we have failed because we’re not learning.

IMG_3401IMG_3402IMG_3403

After two blind contour drawing exercises, I asked my students to write a few sentences:  two things that they hated, or that frustrated them.  Then, tell me something you learned (or something positive). *note: the video above shows students creating gesture drawings; blind contour drawings are very different.

 

IMG_3404IMG_3405IMG_3406IMG_3407

In the book, The Innovator’s Mindset, George Couros discusses the difference between a growth mindset and an innovator’s mindset.  They are very similar, with slightly different goals.  A growth mindset enables a learner to grasp the concept that, with practice and hard work, they can learn a skill.  An innovator’s mindset pushes this concept even further: not only can you learn skills, but use these skills to orchestrate something new and better ~ true creativity.

Where does this happen in our classroom?  Many times, right at the beginning.

 

This entry was posted in Art Education, Education, Education Reform, Growing Success and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment