Make Mistakes on Purpose

When you start a project, an artwork, anything at all.

That blank page can be awfully intimidating. It can hold all sorts of imagined expectations, fears, a bunch of nasty thoughts in that head of yours.

Make a mistake on purpose to move past that stuff.

It’ll be easier because you won’t be disabled by what might happen because it’s already happened.

Magic.

Do you know how many mistakes are in this sketch? No?

There are several. But it’s not a big deal because I just worked with them and now they’re a part of the picture.

Here’s another:

When I published my notebook on Amazon, I didn’t notice that I left part of the template on the image.

(ugh)

But looking at the bigger picture, it doesn’t matter – I fixed the files so new notebooks won’t include the mistake. And, most importantly, I MADE NOTEBOOKS that are up on Amazon and it’s really really cool.

I’ll let Neil Gaiman summarize:

Read more: neilgaiman.com

.

xo

.

This entry was posted in Artist Life, self-publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Make Mistakes on Purpose

  1. Pingback: This Week in Ontario Edublogs – doug — off the record

Leave a comment